OSB ENVIRONMENTAL AND NATURAL RESOURCES SECTION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

Tuesday, December 19, 2023 – 12:00 p.m.

ENR Executive Committee Members: Jessica Bernardini, Ryan Shannon, Maureen Bayer, Caylin Barter, Sara Ghafouri, Dominic Carollo, Chris Thomas, Sage Ertman, Marika Sitz, Lindsay Thane, Sadie Normoyle, Cassie Roberts, Mike Eliason, Olivier Jamin, Hannah Goldblatt, Laura Kerr

<u>Present</u>: Jessica Bernardini, Ryan Shannon, Caylin Barter, Maureen Bayer, Sara Ghafouri, Dominic Carollo, Chris Thomas, Sage Ertman, Marika Sitz, Lindsay Thane, Sadie Normoyle, Mike Eliason, Laura Kerr

Quorum (minimum of 9 of 16) – Quorum reached

Excused: Hannah Goldblatt, Olivier Jamin, Cassie Roberts

Unexcused: None

Section Members & General Public (non-EC): Matt Sheilds (OSB)

Meeting commenced at 12:03 with quorum

MINUTES

1. Approval of Minutes (Laura Kerr)

Sara moved to approve the minutes, Dominic seconded. Mauren abstained; all others present voted in favor. The motion to approve the minutes passed.

2. Chair's Report (Ryan Shannon)

Ryan thanked the group for the dedication throughout the year.

3. Bar Liaison Report (Matt Sheilds)

No updates at this time.

4. Treasurer's Report (Sara Ghafouri)

November financials have not yet been released. OSB ENR timely submitted the 2024 budget and submitted check requests for contributions to diversity stipend and Campaign for Equal Justice.

5. Publications

a. ENR Deskbook (Ryan Shannon, Sara Ghafouri, Dominic Carollo)

Numerous ENR members reached out to assist with the ENR Deskbook. In the new year, the EC will focus on path forward to update.

b. Case Notes (Hannah Goldblatt and Jessica Bernardini)

No updates at this time.

c. E-Outlooks (Chris Thomas and Dominic Carollo)

No updates at this time.

6. Education/CLE

a. Brownbags (Sage Ertman, Olivier Jamin and Marika Sitz)

No updates at this time.

b. Field Trips (Maureen Bayer, Laura Kerr and Caylin Barter)

No updates at this time.

c. Annual CLE (Maureen Bayer, Dominic Carollo, Olivier Jamin, Laura Kerr, Cassie Roberts, Lindsay Thane, Chris Thomas)

No updates at this time.

7. Committees

a. Pro Bono (Dominic Carollo and Olivier Jamin)

In the new year, the EC will seek new members for this subcommittee and consider focusing on volunteer and community service events, rather than pro bono events.

b. Diversity (Sage Ertman, Sara Ghafouri and Sadie Normoyle)

Diversity Committee is prioritizing another career panel in the summer. The Diversity Committee also wants to increase engagement in awarding the OSB's Diversity Stipend.

c. Executive Committee Membership (Sara Ghafouri, Chris Thomas and non-EC member)

An email from the OSB went out and EC members were encouraged to vote.

d. Annual Award/Meeting (Maureen Bayer, Dominic Carollo, Lindsay Thane and non EC member)

The EC discussed different ways that this has been handled over the years. In the past two years, the Annual Award Committee has provided a verbal recommendation to the EC outlining the basis of the recommendation. The EC will then vote on the nominations.

The Annual Awards Committee received four nominations. Using the criteria outlined in the EC guidelines, the Annual Award Committee focused on two recommendations, and interviewed those candidates. Based on that The Annual Award Committee recommends nominating Jay Waldren.

EC members, including Annual Award Committee members, raised the following questions about the process to revisit for next year included concerns about this award being considered a "Lifetime Achievement" award, number of subcommittee members and whether subcommittee members should recuse themselves if a nominee is associated with the subcommittee member's firm.

Dominic moved to approve. Ryan seconded. Lindsay and Caylin abstained. The motion approved.

e. Legislation (Caylin Barter and Mike Eliason)

No updates at this time.

8. Technology (Maureen Bayer and Hannah Goldblatt)

No updates at this time.

9. Other/New Business (Ryan Shannon)

Meeting concluded at 12:46